Skip Navigation

Research Committee


The ANZSBT strongly encourages advancement of research in transfusion medicine and science in Australasia. The Society provides an annual Research grant to promote and develop research in related transfusion medicine knowledge and science.

The ANZSBT Research Committee is responsible for reviewing all research grant applications for the annual ANZSBT Research grant and evaluating the merits of proposed research projects, the significance of the project and value of potential outcomes for Australia and New Zealand.

The Society ensures that the Research Committee is made up of academics from across Australia and New Zealand of whom the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) agrees are suitably qualified to serve on the Committee. The NHMRC confirms that the current Research Committee has significant expertise to evaluate the merits of proposed research programs and to determine how research funds are applied to research purposes.

The Research Committee is led by Associate Professor John Carter (Chairman) and includes Professor Wendy Erber, Professor Paul Monagle, Associate Professor Catherine Hyland and Associate Professor Erica Wood.        



Associate Professor John Carter (Chair)               
Medical Leader, Wellington Blood and Cancer Centre, Wellington Hospital
Associate Professor, University of Otago                                                                                                                                                    



Associate Professor Erica Wood
Transfusion Medicine Specialist
Head of SPHPM's Research Unit
Consultant Haematologist, Monash Health
Honorary Consultant Haematologist, Peter MacCullum Cancer Centre / Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre



Associate Professor Catherine Hyland                      
Principal Research Fellow for the Australian Red Cross Blood Service, Queensland
Adjunct appointment with the Queensland University of Technology


           Wendy Erber

Professor Wendy Erber
Pro Vice-Chancellor and Executive Dean, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences,
The University of Western Australia


           Paul Monagle

Professor Paul Monagle
Professor of Paediatrics, Department of Paediatrics, The University of Melbourne
Group Leader/Honorary Fellow, Haematology Research, Clinical Sciences, Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Melbourne
Paediatric Haematologist, Department of Clinical Haematology, Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne